Cruel Choices

"Before high noon, you will be in Hell."

Spring, 1788. France is in crisis, the harvest fails. Young men and women flee from the countryside into Paris, where Anne Cartier searches for a missing acquaintance, Lucie Gigot, last seen in the Palais Royal with the Marquis de Bresse's valet. The trail leads to the marquis himself, a notorious libertine and disciple of the Marquis de Sade. But when Bresse is found dead in the Seine, Anne's quest turns into a murder investigation. Together with her husband Colonel Paul de Saint-Martin and his adjutant Georges Charpentier, she uncovers a vicious network of pimps, brothel madames, and corrupt policemen who traffic in human flesh...

About the Mystery

Cruel Choices (Severn House, 2007) is the sixth in the Anne Cartier series.


"O'Brien's trademark impeccable historical detail... shines all the more brightly in this unusually uncomplicated mystery - one of his best efforts."

Kirkus Reviews, April 1, 2007

"Fans who have come to expect O'Brien's well-pitched historical details will not be disappointed; the journey into the underworld of the 18th-century sex trade is fascinating if grim."

Publishers Weekly, May 2007

Sample Chapter

ISBN: 978-0-7278-6463-5
Severn House Publishers, Ltd.
US$27.95 - UK£18.99